Lijit Blog Search Tool – Review and Tutorial

.Lijit is a search tool that offers a lot more features than the run of the mill default blog searches. I have just installed the Lijit Widget (Wijit) in my sidebar. Automatic installation is available for Blogger and Typepad via the widget setup and there is a brand new Lijit WordPress plugin that gives you the option of using Lijit as a stand alone search or incorporating it into the default WordPress search widget.

Features

  • Optional addition of some or all of your bookmarking, social networking and photo sites to Lijit will allow search of not only your blog posts but of sites you have bookmarked, your blogroll sites and your social networking contact’s posts and their contacts and bookmarks. Most of the popular sites are included although my favorite bookmarking site, diigo, is as usual not included. There is also a feature to add feeds and site url’s so adding my diigo bookmarks feed solved this problem for me.
    The search result window shows tabs for results from your blog, your network, your content (on any site), and the web. You set your widget’s default search to show one of these tabs as the front page of the results. I have set mine up to show search results from my blog first. I recommend this as you will keep searchers on your own site longer if the search term brings up satisfactory results in your blog (in terms of what the user wishes).
  • Choose to have your search results show up only on the Lijit site or in your blog window via a pop up screen.
  • Statistics available on your Lijit page will give you information about:
    • the number of times you have been searched,
    • the results that have been clicked,
    • information sources that have provided the most clicked results,
    • blogs that have linked to you,
    • searches that have brought people to your blog .

You can choose to make your statistics publicly viewable.
Widgets can be created to display some recent reader stats on your blog via a list or map:

Lijit recent reader stats map Lijit recent reader stats list

  • An optional “Surprise me!” button produces a list of random content from your blogs and added services – and the results did surprise me as MyBlogLog blogs, that I was not even aware of, showed up there. (MBL automatically adds blogs that you have visited a certain number of times) I may remove MyBlogLog from my options so that results are more relevant to my blog topics.
  • A feature named ‘Re-search’ displays extra information for those reaching your blog via a Google search. Here are the results which showed up after I had done a Google Search for “blogging sueblimely images”.For this example, I had to use my blog name in the search terms so that I guaranteed that one of my posts came up in a google search! Options allow you to either display these results below your widget or across the top of your blog.

Below Lijit Wijit

Lijit re-search results below

Top Placement – this image was created by a Lijit preview feature

Lijit re-search results top
  • The widget can be configured to show ‘Popular Searches’ and ‘content’ icons’ I chose not to include these features on mine, being mindful of above the fold sidebar space and page load time, but this is what they would have looked like had I installed them:

Lijit Popular Searches Lijit content buttons, social networking icons

  • Along with search results comes an option to add a search of the blog you are searching to your browser search engines.
  • Lijit uses Google search but also has its own search infrastructure. Om Malik reports that there are plans to add an opt-in ad network to search results and to allow publishers to sell their own keyword inventory in as well as giving them the opportunity to “use Lijit to back-fill the advertising spots”

Advantages of using Lijit Search on your blog:

  • Lijit search stats are very useful and are displayed in a simple to understand way.
  • The browser search engines feature is useful for yourself to add for a quick search of your own blog as well for others to add to encourage others to revisit your content..
  • Searching of your blogroll and social networking contact sites. This could be seen as a resource for your readers as well as a way of recognizing your blogging contacts – another form of link love.
  • When results
  • Search of your bookmarking sites is another resource for your readers to tap into. I consider my online bookmarking sites a research tool for you, adding links that I think you would find useful relating to topics I cover here, rather than using them for personal purposes. I already display my diigo bookmarks so for me the Lijit search is an extension of this principle. As you will know, if you read this blog often, I tend to ignore SEO recommendations for more incoming links than outgoing as I wish to provide useful information, whether written by myself or others, and to give recognition to the good blog content of my contacts. .
  • Keeping the search result window on your blog, rather than purely on the Lijit site, will retain your readers on your site for longer.

Setup was simple and, if you change your preferences, you do not have to alter the widget code as new or changed features are automatically added. The widget itself did not seem to impact my page load time although the search results are a little slow to show up. Disadvantages – yet another widget added to your sidebar and for me another tool to divert me away from my tasks at hand today – my (semi) regular news post and a tutorial on Yahoo Buzz – which now allows anyone to add content a la Digg but with some different and useful features.

No Hype Just Help Newsletter
Signup today to receive news and info about blogging, marketing, and social media, plus free images
The following two tabs change content below.
I am Sue Bride, a Professional Blogger, Web Developer and Internet Marketer from the Mornington Peninsula, Australia. Here I talk about tools and resources for Blogging, Social Media, Networking, Wordpress, SEO, Images and Marketing. I create Wordpress sites for charity and small business.

Latest posts by Sue Bride (see all)

Categories Tools and Resources

46 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2008 at | Permalink

    Thanks Sue,

    Just saw you titter and now must explore lijit more looks amazing.

    thanks for the keyword plugin.

    I now have you in mu reader

    Suzie

    Suzie Cheels last blog post..Law of Attraction Fundamentals

  2. Posted August 25, 2008 at | Permalink

    That looks interesting, I might give that one a go, too, thanks :smile:

    Jaynes last blog post..Pretty Possum Mafia Moll

  3. Posted August 25, 2008 at | Permalink

    That does look interesting
    Heheh, it’s got a cool name – Lijit:)

    Otooos last blog post..Site Flipping: How Much Can You Really Make?

  4. Posted August 26, 2008 at | Permalink

    Thanks for the fantastic review of Lijit. We appreciate you taking the time to check out our service, install the widget, and write a tutorial.

    If you (or your readers) have any feedback or questions about the widget’s performance, please send it my way. I’m tara at lijit dot com.

  5. Posted August 26, 2008 at | Permalink

    wow seems interesting…where did that name come from. I like it

  6. Posted August 26, 2008 at | Permalink

    seems like a cool little widget. I like the map of the world feature of it :)

  7. Posted August 27, 2008 at | Permalink

    Thanks for the keyword plugin! that looks interesting and I do like it. Thank you so much for sharing.

  8. Posted August 27, 2008 at | Permalink

    That’s the first time I’ve heard of this plugin or maybe I’ve not been looking carefully. I’ve never really thought to replace the default one but worth a shot…

    Juneaus last blog post..Juneau Salmon Fishing Season

  9. Posted August 28, 2008 at | Permalink

    these little widgets are looking amazing.. they could be a great fit on my blogs.

    Sarahs last blog post..Basement Flooring: Form and Patterns

  10. Posted August 29, 2008 at | Permalink

    Thank you very much Sue for this post. It’s very informative for me, I will Try….

  11. Posted August 30, 2008 at | Permalink

    I am now thinking of making my stats less public. Since I try to rank for some keywords, I do not like the idea of people knowing them. Of course, general visitor numbers is fine to share, but not more.
    I also have been happy with WPs search function, however, lijit’s graphical feature do look cool I must agree.

  12. Posted August 30, 2008 at | Permalink

    Wow, that is a neat…but I don’t know if I need yet another sidebar widget… I have taken so many off…but maybe I will check it out!

    Chelles last blog post..After He’s Been Caught: Should You Stay or Should You Go?

  13. Posted August 30, 2008 at | Permalink

    Great tool, thx for the article. I will try it on my blog

  14. Posted August 30, 2008 at | Permalink

    Wow,

    this looks like a very nice plugin. Soon I will decide if i will use it on my blog.thanks

  15. Posted August 31, 2008 at | Permalink

    Another interesting piece of software Sue. How do you find time to research all of them.

  16. Posted September 1, 2008 at | Permalink

    I have been inviting using it, but think their widgets are a bit big and kind of a blur for the eyes.

    RennyBAs last blog post..Bodø in Norway just north of the Arctic Circle

  17. Posted September 1, 2008 at | Permalink

    i like the map feature of this. the map widget looks aesthetically pleasing, and it provides information on the visitor’s source (direct or search). that’s great information to have at one’s disposal.

    koujis last blog post..haiku poem: streets

  18. Posted September 1, 2008 at | Permalink

    I think custom Google Search is still the way to go. Everyone is familiar with the interface and it offers a change through adsense to earn a little money through searches.

    lisas last blog post..Coffee Indulgence Gift Basket

  19. Posted September 2, 2008 at | Permalink

    yeah! i agree with lisa. if you hav to choose anything else except default search, custom google search is still the best & profitable option.

    aniroy1986s last blog post..free Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009 subscription for 6 months for Indians

  20. Posted September 3, 2008 at | Permalink

    Google search is effective and likely more accurate than the built in blog searches. Lijit adds something extra a different which gives it appeal.

    @Rennie – I did not add all the widgets available because of having enough already.

    @Colin – it could be OCD – mixed with a need for perfectionism or is it that I need to find something to write about that all the other bloggers about blogging have not written about maybe?

  21. Posted September 3, 2008 at | Permalink

    An excellent review, as usual, Sue. I read some about lijit, but never got to try it myself. I think there are far too many widgets and sometimes they slow down the page loading times – especially when the data they aggregate is on servers that crash. I deleted a bunch already.

  22. Posted September 3, 2008 at | Permalink

    I have seen it on other blogs and never really explored it further. Thanks for a great review. I’m going to have a second look at it.

    Yan

    Yan Shall Blogs last blog post..Readers Appreciation No.1

  23. Posted September 4, 2008 at | Permalink

    WOW great tool. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. I’ve seen it on several different sites but never followed up to find out more about it.

    Johns last blog post..Baltimore Real Estate

  24. Posted September 4, 2008 at | Permalink

    I tired it out a while back and it seemed pretty good. And they have a big budget, so it seems like a worth while service. I stopped using it to cut back on clutter though.

  25. Posted September 5, 2008 at | Permalink

    i already had this widget and it adds a nice touch

    Jason Onlines last blog post..Playtech Releases H1 Results For 2008

  26. Posted September 10, 2008 at | Permalink

    You really get my attention! Thank you so much for the great tool that you shared. I will surely use that.

  27. Posted September 11, 2008 at | Permalink

    This tutorial seems to have hit the bulls eye and thanks for this update.

    http://quicktutes.com/

  28. Posted September 20, 2008 at | Permalink

    Your post makes one think! Great article. Thanks for allowing me to comment!

  29. Posted October 6, 2008 at | Permalink

    I am a newbie to blogging…’tsk’. Your blog is so informative. It will take me ages to wade through all this information. Thankyou for your very informative posts!

    Mojoshines last blog post..Untitled

  30. Posted March 21, 2009 at | Permalink

    I am Using Lijit on my blog since last 4 month, its a very good tool that gives you clear picture of keyword and key phrases readers use to find your content. it is very useful for those Blog editor who takes search result details very seriously.

    Blogger’s Labs last blog post..Are you Slow Poisoning Your Blog?

  31. Posted March 26, 2009 at | Permalink

    Nice post. This post is different from what I read on most blog. And it have so many valuable things to learn. Thank you for your sharing.

    bluehost vs hostgators last blog post..Green Web Host

  32. Posted March 31, 2009 at | Permalink

    I’m still trying to figure out what the colors mean in Explore. I _think_ the blue lines are the sites I link out to, the orange lines are the sites that link in to me, and the green lines are for two-way links, but I could be totally off on this!

    L. D. Mitchells last blog post..How to Build a Private Library for Less Than $1 a Day: Part II

  33. Posted April 12, 2009 at | Permalink

    It’s great that Lijit has Statistics feature, i like this.

  34. Posted April 25, 2009 at | Permalink

    does it have the ability to put ads (adsense) etc. into the search results?

    cdl tests last blog post..CDL Test

  35. Posted April 26, 2009 at | Permalink

    Great little article.
    And for me this makes perfect sense though. In both cases you are selling yourself!

    rickys last blog post..FireFTP, free full feature FTP client

  36. Posted May 2, 2009 at | Permalink

    a plugin which is very useful. thank you to review this plugin and I can better understand the use of this plugin

  37. Posted May 19, 2009 at | Permalink

    thanks for review this plugin. maybe i will try sooner..:)

    rohadis last blog post..Belajar Menaikkan Kembali Trafik Tukang Nggame

  38. Posted June 23, 2009 at | Permalink

    it’a a useful plugin. nice to read here.

  39. Posted June 30, 2009 at | Permalink

    Its great review and tutorial. Thanks for sharing.

  40. Posted July 15, 2009 at | Permalink

    Great post! I’ll subscribe right now wth my feedreader software!

  41. Posted August 6, 2009 at | Permalink

    This a great little tool for those that are looking for a nice blog search engine.
    .-= Love Graphics´s last blog ..New Love Graphic =-.

    • Posted September 11, 2009 at | Permalink

      This is a pretty cool tool to have on a blog, I may try it out on my personal blog =D

      Till then,

      Jean

  42. Posted September 23, 2009 at | Permalink

    I just couldnt leave your website before saying that I really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors… Will be back often to check up on new stuff you post!

  43. Posted October 13, 2009 at | Permalink

    I am glad I ran across Lijit. I will be installing this on my blog for search.
    .-= Powermat Wireless Charging´s last blog ..Powermat Wireless Charging updated Wed Oct 7 2009 8:55 pm CDT =-.

  44. Posted October 14, 2009 at | Permalink

    Great plug in review. Cool graphics on the plug in too. I am most impressed with your blog:)

  45. Posted November 6, 2009 at | Permalink

    Thanks for information about Lijit Wijit plugin. I’ll check it out.

5 Trackbacks

  • networking superstars
    networking superstars
    WordpressTeamSitePackages

    Power Affiliate Club - Members Helping Members
  • Recent Comments

  • Archives